Artists and LPs That Ought to be Collectable

July 15, 2010

More of my little series on the $1 used LP bins at used record stores.

It’s rather heartbreaking to see Karla Boniff records so frequently in these bins.  A wonderful singer/songwriter – she didn’t sell that well as a solo artist, so a high percentage of the record buyers must have unloaded her LPs.  Linda Ronstadt covered several of her best songs on Hasten Down the Wind (see last post). All of sudden we see lots of Dave Mason albums too, another album-rocker who obviously is now deemed unworthy of taking up shelf space.

Karla Boniff's first and best album, 1977

I thought Joan Armatrading was an interesting fringe artists, but you see tons of her albums in the $1 racks.  Her voice maybe got a little annoying – funny, when Tracey Chapman jumped onto the scene with her huge “fast car” hit I thought, well, this is a “Joan Armatrading” (their voices are very similar) who knows how to make the Top 40.

But what goes around, eventually again SPINS around (on turntables everywhere).  Hall & Oates, once a staple of the $1 bins, has made a comeback.  The vinyl has been gobbled up – maybe thanks to a nostalgic revival helped by Inara George.

Hall & Oates vinyl is moving again

And here’s the topper – recently at Amoeba a hip 20-something young woman DJ was playing various quirky elevator-music tunes in the store, pop hits covered by The Hollywood Strings and Ray Conniff – this was her thing.  Wow.  That’s an inexpensive hobby – simply head for the 25-cent bins.

2 Responses to “Artists and LPs That Ought to be Collectable”

  1. OK, without a doubt, this will come off as sounding rude.
    I wouldn’t ever be rude to people (well, except for people who are rude to me, but in any case…
    (oh, just get on with it)

    OK, I’m old.
    59, actually. Older than my years, though, and am thinking I saw something I can’t remember tyhe details of.
    I think…
    (should I mention I’m not being rude, again? No. Just get on with it…)
    I’m thinking I saw Mick Jagger…driving a big…
    pink and purple penis car.

    There. I’ve said it.
    (OK, written it)
    and I can’t unwrite it.
    (well, yes i can. I can delete all this and run away, run away!)

    But I won’t.
    Reason is I have been searching for the picture, and I was almost sure it was in a record album.
    Mick Jagger?
    Well, you got me there, but, as I thought about it, who else WOULD drive a huge, pink and purple penis shaped car?

    So…I’m going to leave now.
    (in case you’re older than 59, let me assure you, you’re not old.
    Neither am I.

    We’re ancient.
    OK, there it is…
    anything else and i’m just blowing smoke…

  2. Craig said

    That penis-mobile was pictured in the centerfold of Steppenwolf LP “For Ladies Only”.

Leave a Reply

